Recipes Inspired by my Favourite Chefs

2 Nov

The following are some recipes inspired by watching, reading and/or listening to some of my favourite chefs.

Carbonara inspired by a post on GOOP from Mario Batali.

At Italian eateries, I often order the carbonara because I found it so difficult to make at home.  I read a very simple carbonara recipe from Mario Batali courtesy of GOOP but only had half the ingredients required so I improvised and learned not to.

Homemade perogies from a recipe on Fresh with Anna Olson.

I have watched every episode of Fresh with host Anna Olson who on one particular occasion was making perogies (from the “Thanks Grandma” episode). She made it look so easy and I had all the necessary ingredients in my kitchen and was feeling adventurous so I thought why not. It was a lot more work than I anticipated; albeit, it was my first time.  For the most part they turned out quite well but a little doughy.

Simple roasted potatoes courtesy of Martha Stewart.

I have a super easy roasted potato recipe that I often make which I learned from an episode of Martha Stewart from long long ago.  She had a British special guest on the show who revealed some tricks for crispy potatoes is to score the potato with a fork before placing in the oven and then adding salt after the cooking process.

A salad with tomatoes, peppers, feta and bread. This recipe is inspired from one on Weelicious.

Weelicious has a simple, easy and fresh tomato bread salad on her site.  I had some stale bread lying around which I did not want to waste and I thought this recipe was a great way to use it up.

Many of my everyday recipes and cooking methods are inspired by the chefs I watch and read about.  Some of my favourites are (in no particular order) Anna Olson, Martha Stewart, Catherine McCord, Giada De Laurentiis, Rachael Ray and Jamie Oliver. I hope they inspire you as much as they inspire me.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 30 other followers

